Mary Beats Jane - Locust (1997)



  1. Homecoming
  2. Blackeye
  3. Pure
  4. Day In Day Out
  5. Dogrelish
  6. Fall
  7. Flowered
  8. Corrosion
  9. Cradlewake
  10. Cut
  11. Nail Me

Peter Dolving is mainly known for his vocal duties for The Haunted, but before the Thrash institution formed he was part of another band: Mary Beats Jane. They released their debut album in 1994 which was a Metal infused version of Hardcore. Before the band called it quits in 1997 they released their second and final album.

And the band changed a lot since their debut album. Album opener Homecoming serves as an intro. Beeping noises and fuzzy guitars build up and stop suddenly just to let the drums for the first actual song Blackeye take over. First thing noticable is the production which is far away from the Metal sound of the debut. This is still some kind of Hardcore, but the influences are drawn from bands like Tool or maybe the Deftones and the band obviously also got influenced by some Noisecore as well.

While the influences seem obvious, the band manages to fully embrace their very own take on music, the drum and guitar tone of Locust was unique and still is to this very day, which is quite an archivement on its own. Even better the songs themselves haven't lost any of their original appeal. Third song Pure should have been on heavy rotation on Indie radio, same with the first actual single Day In Day Out, which is the most obviously Tool-influenced track on the album. But yet the band stayed under the radar. A shame. People missed out on the grooving and driving Dogrelish and the adrenaline injected Flowered which is the most aggressive track on the album together with Corrosion following it.

But they also missed beautiful numbers such as the acoustic favorite Fall or the Jazz influenced closing track Nail Me which is nothing but a perfect closer for this album. And they missed the fantastic Cradlewake which is a Psychedelic number perfectly combining the best of nineties angst-driven rock music into one song.

Yes, this is an album full of highlights, which really should have been a much bigger success, It's noisy to the max, but remains accessible at the same time. It's blood pumping and yet full of sensible moments.

Go Top