Mink Stole - Eats Head of Owner (1993)

Eats Head of Owner


  1. Open Mind Surgery
  2. Replacement
  3. Teacher's Pet
  4. Refrigerator
  5. Walk on Water
  6. Dwurbles Bulsara
  7. Universal
  8. Pass
  9. I Wither
  10. Lazer Boy
  11. Sane
  12. Shrink and Fit Machinery

Ian Spehr might be known to some as the vocalist of the band "Genepool" who play their own breed of Post-Punk. What most won't know is that Spehr already fronted a band way back in the early 90s, which released their debut album Eats Head of Owner in 93 and played a mixture of Noise Rock, Grunge and Hardcore. This debut mostly focused on the accessible side of Noise Rock and produced some of the most memoirable tunes of the genre, which never got the recognition they should.

Mink Stole was very much a band of their time. Nirvana and the like were the shit and everyone jumped on the bandwagon to get a piece of the cake. Most tried to copy Grunge music and some did so with great results. But Grunge also had it's counterparts in Noise Rock, a genre that managed to stay away from the public eye with the exception of Sonic Youth having their moment with 1992s Dirty. Apart from that the genre remained as independent as it should.

Mink Stole took a lot of inspiration from the Noise Rock movement but they combined it with the melodic appeal of the exploding Grunge/Alternative machine. And the band manages to balance its two ingredients magnificiently. While the record is full of hooks and production is more on the clean side of things, the band is able to hold on to the underground spirit that surrounds the genre they offer in the first place.

The result is a collection of songs that actually sounds rather unique. There are influences all over the place, but the way Mink Stole combine the strings works to their benefit. Album opener with the dissonance verses and playful guitars, that suddenly boost in the chorus show right away where this journey is heading. Yes, this is noisy and non-commercial and yet it has so much appeal that could have made this a much bigger success than it was.

And the album continues in similar fashion. There is no weak track on the record, yet there is a standout track to be found. When Pass starts playing it's instantly obvious that this one is gonna be huge. More melody focused than the rest of the album this is definately a contender for a proper single release. But it wasn't and neither were any of the other 11 great tracks.

And when the last jam of nearly 8 minutes finished one can only wonder how many great albums might have been lost that still want to be discovered.


Go Top